FACEBOOK … Inadvertent Algorithmic Cruelty

A picture of my daughter, who is dead.  Who died this year.

 

Yes, my year looked like that.  True enough.  My year looked like the now-absent face of my little girl.  It was still unkind to remind me so forcefully.

 

And I know, of course, that this is not a deliberate assault.  This inadvertent algorithmic cruelty is the result of code that works in the overwhelming majority of cases, reminding people of the awesomeness of their years, showing them selfies at a party or whale spouts from sailing boats or the marina outside their vacation house.

 

 

Source: meyerweb.com

Responder

